login   |    register
User Support
Having a problem with the site? Post it here.
Adding pictures to your posts
11Bravo_C2
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: May 12, 2015
entire network: 341 Posts
KitMaker Network: 32 Posts
Posted: Saturday, August 05, 2017 - 03:17 PM UTC
Flickr test 1


navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 04, 2017 - 03:07 AM UTC
Thanks for your help, Darren. I got it figured out.

Michael
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: May 14, 2006
entire network: 9,995 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,610 Posts
Posted: Sunday, July 02, 2017 - 06:39 AM UTC
Michael your attempt was basically correct except that you copied the location at the top of the page rather than under the image.
Removed by original poster on 07/02/17 - 00:48:42 (GMT).
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 05:34 PM UTC
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 03:04 PM UTC
Forget it, I quit!
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 03:04 PM UTC
" BORDER="0">
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 03:02 PM UTC
six.... " BORDER="0">
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:54 PM UTC
Five
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:36 PM UTC
Four....
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:22 PM UTC
I'll give it a shot. Thanks Brother.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
Member Since: December 21, 2002
entire network: 6,902 Posts
KitMaker Network: 726 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 02:16 PM UTC
Man, sorry it is still being cranky.

I wrote this for someone a few months ago. I recall it led them down the path to success:

Hi All,

I am exploring how to explain adding photos to our forum posts easily.

This image is in my gallery as a small thumbnail. I clicked on it and it enlarged.

First, I copied the URL directly from Linked Thumbnail and pasted it and it made this small thumbnail:


Second, to the right of that link box is an icon that looks like a picture frame with a paperclip. Click it and it brings up two URLs:

1. HTML code

2. Direct link

If you copy the URL directly out of HTML code it looks like this:

Direct link looks like this (italics added): /data/500/OKC_RR_Museum_2_8_0_14_1000x708_.jpg

I don't know why it does not show the entire URL string: http://gallery3.kitmaker.net/data/500/OKC_RR_Museum_2_8_0_14_1000x708_.jpg

Regardless, it does not have the string ends '[img ]' and '[/img]' (do not have any space between the brackets and 'img'), thus it will only display as a line of code. Bracketing that code with '[img ]' and '[/img]' looks like this:

A slightly quicker way is simply to right-click the full-size image and Copy Image Location. That makes a hot link of the proceeding URL http://gallery3.kitmaker.net/data/500/OKC_RR_Museum_2_8_0_14_1000x708_.jpg. You just have to click the '[img]' button at far right below the post page text box, and insert the URL string.

Hope this helps.
navychief
Visit this Community
Michigan, United States
Member Since: March 13, 2009
entire network: 47 Posts
KitMaker Network: 11 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 01, 2017 - 01:50 PM UTC
I attempted to post as per the above instructions, however, on my new computer(windows version 10,000 or whatever)when I right click on the photo all I get is copy, share or ask Cortana, no properties. I attempted to manually copy the image location and it posted a link(no photo). I also tried the linked image icon to the right of image location and only got a tiny picture. My photos are within the 800x600 pixel parameters and below the maximum Kb size, so I am at a loss. This the first time in a few years that I have posted here and the first time with this brand new computer. Any help to resolve this issue would be greatly appreciated.
celt15
Visit this Community
Wales, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 16, 2016
entire network: 95 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 01:06 PM UTC
Thanks Mark C,I have added photos of my first armour kit in my photos and will try to add post tomorrow as its only now that I have got home and I am shattered.Thanks Ken.
Namabiiru
#399
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
Member Since: March 05, 2014
entire network: 2,391 Posts
KitMaker Network: 358 Posts
Posted: Monday, March 20, 2017 - 12:56 PM UTC
Kenneth,
Things have changed slightly since this thread was started, but everyone can add photos. Subscribers have a larger storage limit, but otherwise anyone can use the gallery. Instead of PHOTOS, the link is now labeled GALLERY. You should see it above.

Just click the GALLERY link on the menu bar above and then look for the MY PHOTOS link in the upper left. You can save photos and set up albums there. After that, it's just a matter of following the process outlined in this thread for adding photos to your forum posts.

Hope this helps!

celt15
Visit this Community
Wales, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 16, 2016
entire network: 95 Posts
KitMaker Network: 3 Posts
Posted: Monday, March 20, 2017 - 12:16 PM UTC
Hi is it only subscribers that get the photo button on top of the page? I am not a subscriber and have not got a photo button.If only subscribers get this option how can I post pics? Your help would be greatly appreciated.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: May 14, 2006
entire network: 9,995 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,610 Posts
Posted: Friday, February 24, 2017 - 10:54 AM UTC
This issue has been tackled, but keep the file size down to avoid further issues.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: May 14, 2006
entire network: 9,995 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,610 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 03:26 PM UTC
This issue has been highlighted to the publisher and I hope he or I will get back to you shortly.
b17-peter
#392
Visit this Community
Hessen, Germany
Member Since: January 09, 2013
entire network: 264 Posts
KitMaker Network: 19 Posts
Posted: Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 08:30 AM UTC
Hello,
I just tried to upload new pictures, but I always get the message
'your graphic is too wide etc.'
but the images are wide below the limit of 3.072kb (ca. 300 -500kb)??
Removed by original poster on 12/08/16 - 15:40:25 (GMT).
rdt1953
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Member Since: February 06, 2015
entire network: 584 Posts
KitMaker Network: 29 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 09:09 AM UTC
Test

CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: May 14, 2006
entire network: 9,995 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,610 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 04:06 AM UTC
[1mg][/1mg]
Insert the address of the image between the above HTML commands and change the Number ONE to an I
rdt1953
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Member Since: February 06, 2015
entire network: 584 Posts
KitMaker Network: 29 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 01:06 AM UTC
Again

rdt1953
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Member Since: February 06, 2015
entire network: 584 Posts
KitMaker Network: 29 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 01:02 AM UTC
That failed- again -


rdt1953
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Member Since: February 06, 2015
entire network: 584 Posts
KitMaker Network: 29 Posts
Posted: Thursday, December 08, 2016 - 12:58 AM UTC
This is a test