login   |    register
Site Feedback
Have a suggestion or topic about this site? Post it here.
Hosted by Kevin Brant
Gallery problem
PeeJay74
#363
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
Member Since: January 08, 2014
entire network: 397 Posts
KitMaker Network: 10 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 17, 2017 - 01:26 PM GMT+7
Mostly just for storage reasons, 800x600 is big enough for a good pic on my hobby bench laptop and doesnt take up much data.
Joel_W
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Member Since: December 04, 2010
entire network: 7,867 Posts
KitMaker Network: 97 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 17, 2017 - 06:18 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

I use free software called PhotoRazor to resize everything I want to post here to 800x600, it's extremely easy to use and customizable for picture size.



Paul,
There's a ton of freeware out there. I've been using Pixresizer for more years then I can remember if I'm to lazy to open up Lightroom.

One question, why are you still using 800x600 resolution?
Joel
PeeJay74
#363
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
Member Since: January 08, 2014
entire network: 397 Posts
KitMaker Network: 10 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 17, 2017 - 05:46 AM GMT+7
I use free software called PhotoRazor to resize everything I want to post here to 800x600, it's extremely easy to use and customizable for picture size.
Joel_W
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Member Since: December 04, 2010
entire network: 7,867 Posts
KitMaker Network: 97 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 17, 2017 - 05:18 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

Drabslab,

Well said. However, the high resolution that today's digital cameras have aren't meant to push the limits of one's monitor, but rather to afford the serious and/or professional photographer a image that can be enlarged into a print of high quality.

Joel



Hai Joel,

I know and I agree, I am also very pleased that these camera's have become so good.

It does however not prevent (as the image manipulation software has also become very powerful) to adapt the high resolution to something suitable for screen and website use.

But I am sure that you agree with that.




Drabslap,
Sure do.

My screen is set to 1980x1020. I upload all my JPEG files to Image Shack at 1280x1024 and that's what I download them to Aeroscale at. Only really old monitors can't handle that size file and there is a viewable difference at least for me from the previous 1024x768 size.

Joel
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 1,966 Posts
KitMaker Network: 185 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 17, 2017 - 04:12 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Drabslab,

Well said. However, the high resolution that today's digital cameras have aren't meant to push the limits of one's monitor, but rather to afford the serious and/or professional photographer a image that can be enlarged into a print of high quality.

Joel



Hai Joel,

I know and I agree, I am also very pleased that these camera's have become so good.

It does however not prevent (as the image manipulation software has also become very powerful) to adapt the high resolution to something suitable for screen and website use.

But I am sure that you agree with that.

Joel_W
Visit this Community
New York, United States
Member Since: December 04, 2010
entire network: 7,867 Posts
KitMaker Network: 97 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 17, 2017 - 03:37 AM GMT+7
Drabslab,

Well said. However, the high resolution that today's digital cameras have aren't meant to push the limits of one's monitor, but rather to afford the serious and/or professional photographer a image that can be enlarged into a print of high quality.

Joel
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 1,966 Posts
KitMaker Network: 185 Posts
Posted: Monday, November 06, 2017 - 10:48 PM GMT+7

Quoted Text

That's sorted it thanks guys.
Files were just over 2MG.

Those phone cameras just get better and better eh?

Cheers



The resolution of modern phone camera's and certainly of any decent digital camera is very high (let's say 6000 by 4000 pixels). Even with JPEG compression this leads to files of several Mb in size.

Our computer screens these days usually have a resolution of about 1980 by 1080 pixels. Even the newest 4K standard (still a bit uncommon in real life) only has 4096 x 2160 pixels, far less than what digital camera's produce.

Comparing those two shows that uploading full size pictures does not seem to make much sense. Even when viewing the pictures full screen will never deliver the full quality of the picture.

However, it is spoiling a lot of resources in bandwidth to upload the pictures, to store these on the kitmaker server, in bandwidth to download these again for each individual page view, and on the computer of the viewer that has to convert the large file into the local screen resolution. Basically, it slows down the site.

Hence, I use a simple tool (microsoft paint) to resize the pictures to something more appropriate for screen viewing such as a picture width of 1200 points. The 2+ MB a picture then becomes 400KB a picture or less.

An automated tool in the gallery doing just that(while storing also the original picture as backup and to regenerate pictures once the screen resolutions improve) would be better of course.

It would save the users some boring manual work and by reducing the size of all already uploaded full size pictures, would likely have a positive influence on the bandwidth and running costs of the site.
lampie
#029
Visit this Community
England - East Midlands, United Kingdom
Member Since: December 23, 2005
entire network: 6,200 Posts
KitMaker Network: 329 Posts
Posted: Monday, November 06, 2017 - 10:08 AM GMT+7
That's sorted it thanks guys.
Files were just over 2MG.

Those phone cameras just get better and better eh?

Cheers
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Member Since: December 15, 2001
entire network: 12,345 Posts
KitMaker Network: 4,245 Posts
Posted: Monday, November 06, 2017 - 07:47 AM GMT+7
The file size you are uploading is usually the culprit for this. You would think an error message saying "File too large" would have been instituted but something must not be working in the script.

I believe the max file upload is at 2 or 3mb.

Jim
JClapp
#259
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
Member Since: October 23, 2011
entire network: 2,114 Posts
KitMaker Network: 218 Posts
Posted: Monday, November 06, 2017 - 07:15 AM GMT+7
image file too big?
lampie
#029
Visit this Community
England - East Midlands, United Kingdom
Member Since: December 23, 2005
entire network: 6,200 Posts
KitMaker Network: 329 Posts
Posted: Monday, November 06, 2017 - 05:46 AM GMT+7
Hi all,
I'm trying to upload photos into my albums.
I select the album, select the photo, press upload, and then instead of seeing the updated album the photo has disapeared into cyber space never to be seen again.
Any ideas?