login   |    register
Dingforum
The meeting hall for general discussions. Open to all.
Hosted by Mal Mayfield
Unable to post to my gallery!
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Sunday, May 13, 2018 - 11:13 AM UTC
I'm unable to post to my gallery! I've tried to sort it out but nothing seems to let me in I'm trying Flickr but also having trouble posting to that. So until I can resolve the hosting of my photos I can't really post any up dates.

I would be interested in if any of you are having similar problems with the KitMaker gallery and what hosting site do you use?
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 2,149 Posts
KitMaker Network: 243 Posts
Posted: Sunday, May 13, 2018 - 01:04 PM UTC
Yes, I do have troubles. the reason for me is that I almost used up all the 50 MB of gallery space I have at my disposal.

Many have troubles with the gallery, it's one of the first negative aspects of kitmaker that I was confronted with when I joined back in 2004.

NO, I don't use a photo hosting site. I spent to much time already on hosting sites (photobucket remember) that changed conditions or simply stopped activity ruining all my efforts.

I am simply waiting for the promised Kitmaker upgrade and don't try to upload any pictures for the time being.

Unfortunately, that strongly limits my ability to contribute.
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 15, 2018 - 10:31 AM UTC
As a staff member I enjoy unlimited space on my Kitmaker account. So I have relied on it for years.But when I click to upload any new photos I just get an error message. I am still trying and I have asked on the site help forum but the Gallery is hosted "off Site"? and is an add on to Kitmaker so I get the impression that it can't be fixed

I can post from Flickr but I'm worried that could go the same way as Photobucket and It's awkward to find the links to post to my albums!

So posting on this site, and Aeroscale has become all but useless without photos.

I will persevere with it but it is frustrating
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 2,149 Posts
KitMaker Network: 243 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 15, 2018 - 12:14 PM UTC

Quoted Text

, and Aeroscale has become all but useless without photos.

I will persevere with it but it is frustrating



Well, I notice that I don't persevere and am posting a lot less than I used to. Also the ambition to add content under form of reviews and features is gone.

I also seem to be missing many of the regular contributors including (ex) staff.

I hope that the site update that staff_Jim is apparently working on is a success.
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 06:39 PM UTC
Still trying and still no joy!
AussieReg
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
#007
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
Member Since: June 09, 2009
entire network: 6,092 Posts
KitMaker Network: 535 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 01:56 AM UTC
Hi Mal.

Seems strange what is happening to you. I am able to upload to my gallery and post to threads with no issue. Hopefully a temporary bug, have you contacted Jim directly?

Hope you get it sorted soon, I miss seeing your masks in action here mate.

Cheers, D
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 05:50 PM UTC
Jim is aware but if you don't have an issue then it might be at my end?

Thanks, I miss posting. I tend to only post here on the Bulldogs site at the moment. I don't seem to get much of a response on Aeroscale, not that there's is much here but this is the club site, which is why I want to post. I don't post on Aeroscale mainly because it's mainly campaigns and I just don't get the format. Posting lots of different builds in the same thread makes them difficult to follow. If they were posted as individual blogs there would be very much more content on the site? It totally baffles me
AussieReg
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
#007
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
Member Since: June 09, 2009
entire network: 6,092 Posts
KitMaker Network: 535 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 06:49 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Jim is aware but if you don't have an issue then it might be at my end?



Could be a software/compatibility issue at your end, over my head that stuff!


Quoted Text

I don't post on Aeroscale mainly because it's mainly campaigns and I just don't get the format. Posting lots of different builds in the same thread makes them difficult to follow. If they were posted as individual blogs there would be very much more content on the site? It totally baffles me.



Agreed. I tried to get a few more blogs up with the P-47 Group Build a while back, met with some resistance and didn't get the traction I was hoping for.
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 03, 2019 - 08:23 PM UTC
This is a test to see if this hosting site works, this should be a photo of the box of the new tool Tamiya Spitfire Mk I
https://photos.google.com/album/AF1QipNOYrL1CqUQBGJ0lauZIa7IS_Xg6wzSrEYp8Y5H/photo/AF1QipPeDfl4tF0SZlcgbkV2RsEW2BSRRY8DTiQD0hGS
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 03, 2019 - 08:24 PM UTC
Well, it is but just a link, wait out!
Try this:
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 03, 2019 - 08:30 PM UTC
Try this:
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 03, 2019 - 08:30 PM UTC
No, not having it!

I'll keep looking!
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 2,149 Posts
KitMaker Network: 243 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 03, 2019 - 09:18 PM UTC
If I click on the link you provide as test then I only get the google login page. Aby link from any webpage will have the same problem.

Unless google photo has a way to make individual pictures (or folders)public, which I don't know, this can in my opinion never work.

But, does this mean that the problem that you reported on 14/5/2018 has not been solved yet?
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Monday, February 04, 2019 - 07:52 PM UTC
Odd, the link gives me the first photo in the album, which is what I am trying to post?

Anyway, yes the problem still exists. I have tried several times to upload photos but no joy!
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 2,149 Posts
KitMaker Network: 243 Posts
Posted: Monday, February 04, 2019 - 09:33 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Odd, the link gives me the first photo in the album, which is what I am trying to post?



Could that be because you are using your own computer/browser and that you are already logged in to google (gmail, google docs, google photot) when you follow the link?

In that case following a link to your own pictures will work because the google photo server "knows" who you are and "knows" that you own that photo. It will still not work for anyone else.


Quoted Text

Anyway, yes the problem still exists. I have tried several times to upload photos but no joy!



Well, there were already gallery problems when I joined this site in 2004... it's what finally made me stop contributing.
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 2,149 Posts
KitMaker Network: 243 Posts
Posted: Monday, February 04, 2019 - 09:34 PM UTC
Maybe this can help:


google help forum
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Member Since: September 30, 2002
entire network: 8,566 Posts
KitMaker Network: 961 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 05, 2019 - 07:45 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Could that be because you are using your own computer/browser and that you are already logged in to google (gmail, google docs, google photot) when you follow the link?



Yep, that'll be it!

I have an unlimited gallery account but that isn't any use when I can't load any photos to it anymore and it is the reason that I have stopped posting!
drabslab
Visit this Community
European Union
Member Since: September 28, 2004
entire network: 2,149 Posts
KitMaker Network: 243 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 05, 2019 - 08:08 PM UTC
Same for me, no more posts. Its a pity though.