login   |    register
Tips & Tricks
Ask about and post about tips and tricks you use while modelling.
Masking Tape Tie-Down Straps
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 06:38 AM UTC
I need to fabricate some tie-down straps for a couple 1/35 fuel cans. I've read that I can do this using masking tape. The problem is, I have NO idea how wide they should be. Anyone have any suggestions?

TIA!

ivanhoe6
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
Member Since: April 05, 2007
entire network: 2,023 Posts
KitMaker Network: 626 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 06:51 AM UTC
I'd use a gas can with the molded on strap for my measurements.
Sorry, it's not much of an answer but that's how I'd do it.
Hope somebody has a better answer!
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 06:54 AM UTC
Not a bad idea; but there aren't any straps on the cans; but I know they exist on the real thing.

Thanks for the idea though.

165thspc
#521
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
Member Since: April 13, 2011
entire network: 9,454 Posts
KitMaker Network: 176 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 07:36 AM UTC
Just measured one of my models. The band on the model worked out to be about 1/25th of an inch. (A little bit wider than 1/32nd by my measure.)

Real tie-downs work out to be slightly narrower than 1 inch wide so a scale tie down should be just under 1/35th of an inch.
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 07:42 AM UTC
So about .72 mm?
southpier
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
Member Since: December 11, 2009
entire network: 546 Posts
KitMaker Network: 146 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 08:33 AM UTC
https://olive-drab.com/od_mvg_jerry_can.php

this'll get the pedantic among us started
ivanhoe6
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
Member Since: April 05, 2007
entire network: 2,023 Posts
KitMaker Network: 626 Posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2019 - 11:05 PM UTC
I dug out Tamiya's Jeep kit and measured the molded on strap and came up with 1CM for a width or as Michael posted about 1/25th of an inch.
Have a good weekend everybody !
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Friday, June 21, 2019 - 02:30 AM UTC

Quoted Text

I dug out Tamiya's Jeep kit and measured the molded on strap and came up with 1CM for a width or as Michael posted about 1/25th of an inch.
Have a good weekend everybody !




Not to question your measurements; but there are 2.54 cm to the inch so you're saying the strap should be almost half an inch wide in 1/35?

Can someone check my math? Assuming the real thing is 1 inch wide and I want to scale it to 1/35th of an inch which converts to .7 mm. Do my numbers jive?

varanusk
Staff MemberManaging Editor
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain / España
Member Since: July 04, 2013
entire network: 1,287 Posts
KitMaker Network: 337 Posts
Posted: Friday, June 21, 2019 - 11:29 AM UTC
Correct. 0,725mm to be more precise
justsendit
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
Member Since: February 24, 2014
entire network: 3,033 Posts
KitMaker Network: 361 Posts
Posted: Friday, June 21, 2019 - 11:40 AM UTC
Sounds about right. In this example of a Bronco GPW US fuel can, I sliced Tamiya masking tape to just "shy" of 1/32" (0.0312" – 0.793mm) to accommodate a PE buckle from an 'ABER (35 A113) 1:35 Soviet WWII Infantry Accessories' set. However, I have noticed my straps tend to vary +/- depending on which buckles I decide to use... or not.🤔


Figure 1. Original Bronco GPW US fuel can and molded-on strap.


Figure 2. The original strap has been surgically removed and replaced with one made from Tamiya tape and threaded through the PE buckle.

Hint: Threading PE buckles: Remove most of the tape's tackiness (not all of it), then smash it even thinner with a metal ruler before attempting to thread those pesky buckles.🔍


HTH🍺
—mike
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Friday, June 21, 2019 - 02:29 PM UTC
Thanks everybody! I appreciate all the help!

165thspc
#521
Visit this Community
Kentucky, United States
Member Since: April 13, 2011
entire network: 9,454 Posts
KitMaker Network: 176 Posts
Posted: Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 12:16 AM UTC
Sorry, perhaps I am not adequately "dually demented".

I seem to have a severe problem when it comes to converting sub-inch fractions to decimal milimeters.
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Saturday, June 22, 2019 - 12:22 AM UTC
No sweat! I just found a website that would do it!

Isn’t technology grand?!

Owengate
Visit this Community
United States
Member Since: June 03, 2019
entire network: 73 Posts
KitMaker Network: 32 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2019 - 04:19 AM UTC
Definitely learning a lot from here. Thanks for the tips, fellas!
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
Member Since: March 15, 2009
entire network: 3,670 Posts
KitMaker Network: 527 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2019 - 04:59 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Sounds about right. In this example of a Bronco GPW US fuel can, I sliced Tamiya masking tape to just "shy" of 1/32" (0.0312" – 0.793mm) to accommodate a PE buckle from an 'ABER (35 A113) 1:35 Soviet WWII Infantry Accessories' set. However, I have noticed my straps tend to vary +/- depending on which buckles I decide to use... or not.🤔


Figure 1. Original Bronco GPW US fuel can and molded-on strap.


Figure 2. The original strap has been surgically removed and replaced with one made from Tamiya tape and threaded through the PE buckle.

Hint: Threading PE buckles: Remove most of the tape's tackiness (not all of it), then smash it even thinner with a metal ruler before attempting to thread those pesky buckles.🔍


HTH🍺
—mike




Hey Mike-- not to get too picky, but that photo is actually a water can, the fuel can has a screw on top with a chain.
VR, Russ
justsendit
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
Member Since: February 24, 2014
entire network: 3,033 Posts
KitMaker Network: 361 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2019 - 05:54 AM UTC
Hey Russ,
Thank’s for clarifying that typo! ... Uncanny! I was re-shooting the Bronco GPW recently, and realized something seemed off with the “water can” as compared to Asuka’s US “fuel cans” (screw-on type) which I added to another vehicle.
Hmmm... are you clairvoyant?🔮🤔

Now a question: Is that something I should change? It does seem that fuel would be the more logical choice on the aft end.

Cheers!🍺
—mike
Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
Member Since: March 15, 2009
entire network: 3,670 Posts
KitMaker Network: 527 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2019 - 07:36 AM UTC
Mike, I believe that’s the location for the extra fuel can as specified in the manual. But I suppose a crew could put whatever they wanted there.
VR, Russ


justsendit
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
Member Since: February 24, 2014
entire network: 3,033 Posts
KitMaker Network: 361 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2019 - 08:15 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Mike, I believe that’s the location for the extra fuel can as specified in the manual. But I suppose a crew could put whatever they wanted there.
VR, Russ


Or Bronco Models; their manual has a water can. Lol!
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 04, 2019 - 02:04 PM UTC
So, now that I know how wide to cut my tape what would be a realistic color for it. I'm leaning toward Tamiya XF-49 Khaki with maybe a little NATO Green dry-brushed on it.

Incidentally, I got one of those Infini Easy-Cutting Type A mats. It makes getting those straps the right width sooooooo much easier!



Kevlar06
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
Member Since: March 15, 2009
entire network: 3,670 Posts
KitMaker Network: 527 Posts
Posted: Friday, July 05, 2019 - 03:52 AM UTC
Richard,
I'd say XF-49 is an OK choice. In reality, these straps, exposed to the elements as they were, could fade and change color just like any fabric, so a wide variety of color rangs could be possible, from brand new to worn out. If my own experience with tie down straps is good for anything, I've even seen Nylon straps fade out to various shades of "green". On fuel cans, these canvass straps also tend to get oily or dirty easily. The Physical interaction between fuel and the sun fades them out rapidly. So I'd say khaki is as good as any other color.
VR, Russ
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Friday, July 05, 2019 - 04:28 AM UTC
Thanks Russ!

18Bravo
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
Member Since: January 20, 2005
entire network: 7,219 Posts
KitMaker Network: 981 Posts
Posted: Friday, July 05, 2019 - 03:00 PM UTC
This is what you want:

https://store.abovegroundartsupplies.com/products/chartpak-graphic-tape-1-32--x-648--black-matte-16081.html

I've been using it in various sizes for well over thirty years. Saves a lot of time.
Removed by original poster on 07/06/19 - 15:48:44 (GMT).
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Member Since: January 05, 2010
entire network: 1,051 Posts
KitMaker Network: 21 Posts
Posted: Saturday, July 06, 2019 - 03:49 AM UTC
Actually, this is what I went with: http://store.spruebrothers.com/product_p/infit3001v1.htm